All arrangements for good vote in Gaibandha

· Voters in Gaibandha-5 Constituency consisting of 17 unions of Phulchari and Saghata upazilas have a total of 3 lakh 39 thousand 743 voters.

· Voting will be done by EVM in 952 booths of 145 centers.

· Candidates: Mahmud Hasan Ripon (Awami League-Boat), AHM Golam Shahid Ranju (National Party-Plough), Advocate Jahangir Alam (Alternate Clause-Kula), Nahiduzzaman Nishad (Independent-Apple) and Syed Mahbubur Rahman (Independent- Trucks) are competing.

When Deputy Speaker Fazle Rabbi Mia died on July 23, his parliamentary seat was declared vacant.

On October 12, during the by-election of the Gaibandha-5 constituency, the EC ordered the suspension of the election from Dhaka midway after seeing the scenes of irregularities in one-third of the centers on the CC camera.

It is the first case in the history of the Election Commission of Bangladesh that the election of a parliamentary seat has been stopped completely (all centers) due to irregularities.

After that, Chief Election Commissioner Kazi Habibul Awal formed a three-member investigation committee to identify those involved in the irregularities.

Based on the recommendations of the committee, the Election Commission later decided to take action against the Returning Officer, Additional Deputy Commissioner, Presiding Officer, Sub-Inspector of Police, Executive Magistrate and hundreds of polling officers and election agents.

However, no action was recommended against the candidate, Deputy Commissioner and Superintendent of Police as there was no evidence of involvement in any kind of irregularity.

The Election Commission fixed a new date on January 4 for the re-polling of the Gaibandha-5 constituency on December 6.

Source link